Project 8: Brochure

Front

P8-CathyGardner-Front

Inside

P8-CathyGardner-Inside

Back

P8-CathyGardner-Back

  1. Description: A full bleed tri-fold color brochure
  2. Process (Programs, Tools, Skills): First I sketched out my design ideas on a pad of paper. I chose the best option, then took it to the Adobe programs. I used Adobe Photoshop, Adobe InDesign, and Adobe Illustrator to complete my design. I created a logo using the pen tool on Illustrator and then applied it to the design on InDesign. I used Photoshop to crop out the images of the basketball hoop and the basketball. I used “wrap text” so that the text would wrap around these images. I used “Paragraph Styling” so that my headings, subheadings, and paragraphs would all have the same font size, style, and spacing. I used a flat design of black for the inside to make it look clean and concise. On the back of the design, I used a yellow box to create contrast with the rest of the black. I used repetition of the basketball to draw the eye. I used good alignment in all of the places I could to make it clean and crisp. Lastly, I used yellow, orange, and brick on the Esplin color wheel which complemented each other to make the audience think of “basketball.”
  3. Message: Any child can participate in the basketball camp regardless of income. The camp provides a safe environment for children to learn ball handling skills, confidence, and experience game-like situations.
  4. Audience: Any parent, grandparent, or guardian that would like to enroll their children or grandchildren in a basketball camp to teach them good sportsmanship and basketball skills.
  5. Top Thing Learned: The top thing I learned was how to use the three Adobe programs in a way that compliments the design beautifully.
  6. Color scheme and color names: Analogous: Yellow, Orange, Brick
  7. Title Font Name & Category: Bookman Old Style: Oldstyle
  8. Copy Font Name & Category: Avenir Next: Sans-serif
  9. Word Count of copy: 272

Thumbnails of Images used:

 Basketball_ball

Hoops

Coach2 

Boys with basketball coach

Sources (Links to images on original websites):

http://www.wallpedes.com/wallpaper-basketball-court-layouts-backgrounds/wallpaper-hd-basketball-wallpapers-bug.html

http://www.wallpedes.com/basketball-wallpaper-hd/air-jordan-nba-basketball-hd-sport-wallpapers-wholles.html

http://www.gfymca.org/youth-development/swim-sports-play/youth-sports/

http://changingthegameproject.com/youth-sports-coaching-not-a-job-but-a-calling/

2 thoughts on “Project 8: Brochure

  1. Che! Me encanta tu folleto y tu diseño. For real though, I really like the white space throughout the design, especially the inside of the design with the white text on black. I think that the layout and alignment is really effective and really catches your attention. Its a really clean design and effectively gets the message across. Bien hecho!

    Check out what I did this week as well: https://markpauldaniel.wordpress.com/2015/07/11/project-8-brochure/

Leave a Reply

